11 independent reviews for Family sea kayaking holiday in Croatia

Reviews for Family sea kayaking holiday in Croatia

SHOW
2
9
0
0
0

review 21 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything - from beginning to end.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in family owned accommodation and ate in local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were really looking forward to this trip and it surpassed our very high expectations. Our tour operator was amazing, the organisation was just superb, everything was seamless and yet relaxed at the same time. Right from pick up in Dubrovnick to being taekn back to the airport it felt as if we were being shown around by friends rather than guides. Thank you!

review 1 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We can not pick out something, the whole trip was memorable - the days when we paddled kayak, the food, the family that owned the place we stayed in, our wonderful guides and all the laughter along with the entire group. It was a trip we will never forget.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I really did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holidays ever. I highly recommend it.

review 19 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The kayaking around Lopud was lovely but the highlight was the supper we were taken to by our guide in the centre of the island. We had to walk for 30 mins to get there - travelling back in the dark after a huge thunderstorm. It was in a farmhouse run by an elderly couple who cooked for us on an open fire and produced a really memorable meal. Before we ate, they brought out an enormous selection of home made liqueurs for us to sample.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring lots of sun cream. Give everything a go - including diving into an underwater cave which was pretty scary.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate all local food - mainly fish and locally grown salads. We certainly contributed to the local economy. We probably learnt about local conservation issues rather than benefiting them. There were no cars on Lopud so we walked and kayaked to get around.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent family holiday which suited teenagers, young adults and older adults equally.There was a good balance of organised activity and free time. The accommodation was basic but clean and accessible. The guides were fabulous as was the 'land lady'. Croatia was jolly good value, beautiful and friendly.

review 17 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lopud island - amazing sunsets, lovely atmosphere and place to relax. Diving /swimming in the blue cave. Kayaking in stunning location & clear waters. The guides - great company, characters and knew their stuff. We got on really well with the other family we met and shared the activities with - it worked really well for both for the adults and the kids

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for the sun (hat/cream/rash vest if you are very sun sensitive) and heat 33degrees was fine. Expect the programme to flex around the weather and other trips - we had one day where there was a mix up on banana boat ride but it worked out ok in the end. It's worth having your mobile phone to hand to keep in touch with Ivana.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. We stayed at local accommodation, the guides took us to great out of the way restaurants for food, including eating at a local farm/small holding with meat roasted 'under the bell'.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - loved Croatian Island life, a semi organised trip with a like minded family and great guides. It was right balance of activities and doing our own thing. I would definitely recommend and will be back or book a similar trip again.

review 18 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many highlights to this holiday. Transfer by speedboat to Lopud set the scene for a fabulous adventure. Our guide Matija ( a former member of Croatia National canoe team) who was incredibly attentive and informative throughout our stay .We were delighted to find that our little group of 4 had a guide to look after just us. We really enjoyed conversing with many members of the "Adria Adventure" team who were so kind and helpful. Ivana called by to say hello and check that we were happy. Our accommodation was comfortable and easily accessible, and we were very impressed by the family (Maria, her sister and parents) who were keen to ensure we settled in and served us a lovely breakfast ( including mostly home made jams, lemon/lime juice from the garden, home made pancakes etc) every morning. We loved loved loved the kayaking which was pitched at just the right level for us with 2 kids, aged 11 years and 8 years but we all agree that the absolute highlight was swimming in the green cave, absolutely unforgettable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, local restaurants etc on Lopud benefitted from our trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 30 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming in the sea caves, the farmhouse dinner (especially the evening walk to get there), So many happy meals. The silence of kayaking even in a group. Discovering footpaths leading to beautiful rocky places to swim. Too many good memories to have only one favourite!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy a waterproof camera Wear long sleeves in kayaks in summer Ask the guides to try and keep the group together , especially when kayaking across open water where there are quite a few boats. Tired children at the back get a bit demoralised (even though the second guide stayed with them at the back) each time they catch up the rest of the group is ready to leave again . It's a bit stressful for parents if the group splits and a child is a bit tired in a single kayak. Not a major problem, just a suggestion.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes Except recycling water bottles didnít seem possible

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful

review 28 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dubrovnik and the Islands we kayaked around were stunning. The people were very friendly and we had a fantastic time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Depending on flight times you may have several hours wait for the ferry to Lopud from Dubrovnik so arrive prepared with hot weather clothes (incl swimming stuff) and enjoy a day in the city.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely, apart from the need for air travel (Looked at going by train and found it would have been long and expensive)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was brilliant. The 3 other families in our group were great fun. The guides were really good and worked very hard to make sure everyone enjoyed themselves. The island of Lopud is idyllic. We will certainly be back!

review 24 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peaceful islands, the warm, clear waters and the relaxed approach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for the itinerary to change due to the weather, but that is part of the charm, and the relaxed atmosphere.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Totally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic, I only wish it could have lasted longer. I really could not fault the operator.

review 5 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The kayaking - but a close call as the speedboat trip to the green cave was pretty fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready to go with the flow a bit. Take plenty of sunscreen - in hot weather the sun can be very deceptive when you are on/in the water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, our guides were local and we ate in local restaurants, mostly locally caught fish. The apartment that we stayed in was part of a house owned and lived in by local people. We used public transport and walked and paddled.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant. We wanted to be challenged and we were, but there was nothing beyond our capabilities. We enjoyed being part of a group, it was especially good for the children.

review 28 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sea kayaking in the beautiful, clear turquoise waters of the Adriatic and staying on a wonderfully unspoilt traffic-free island.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope that it benefited local people by putting some money into their pockets. Apart from the air flight, there was little or no impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic... cannot rate it too highly. The company who organized it couldn't have been better... I wish them every success but at the same time, hope they stay small and don't lose the personal touch that made it so great... it was very low key and relaxed.

review 5 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great location and fun activities. My two children loved it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I booked a 'family kayaking holiday' and anticipated up to ten other people - all families. In fact, there were about 15 others, mainly young couples, many of whom were seriously into water sports. This wasn't a problem as we all got on well and the leaders were great - devoting a lot of time to the children and myself - but you need to be aware that you may not in fact be joining other families. All meals were included, but there was actually some confusion over 'vouchers' for lunch and dinner, which was a little irritating. You need to be clear up front about what is and isn't included.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I'm sure it helped the local economy; little environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good - excellent, friendly staff and a wonderful location.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies