21 independent reviews for Yoga holidays in Spain

Reviews for Yoga holidays in Spain

SHOW
15
6
0
0
0

review 11 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was a great holiday giving a good mix of relaxation & exercise. Two yoga teachers with slightly different styles, the location is ideal, between the mountains and the sea, in a small hotel serving delicious food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Works great for any level of yoga experience,

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a small family run hotel & the activities used a local guiding company, recycling was encouraged and water provided to refill bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lovely holiday, well run by a very easygoing, accommodating couple.

review 9 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hike into the Sanchett mountains was sublime. The marvellous views. The beautiful Old Town of Altea. The tranquility of the yoga sessions

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Remember your crocs/beach shoes - the pebbly beach is difficult to walk on and getting into the sea is quite painful underfoot. Dress is definitely casual in the hotel and often you eat dinner in your yoga gear

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

You are encouraged to eat out on two nights. The old town has many excellent shops and restaurants to spend your money on and they are good value

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. You will arrive home feeling very relaxed and calm

review 26 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Excellent yoga and Pilates classes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Great convenient location, good holiday when travelling alone.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes benefited local people, could do more to encourage less use of plastic bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, lived up to my expectations.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello again there Ann, thank you SO much for taking the time to leave a review. We're very touched to see you've given us a 5 star rating and described it as 'Excellent'. I just wanted to explain to anyone reading this review the steps we take to reduce & encourage less use of plastic during our holidays: * we ask guests to bring a refillable water bottle with them in their luggage to avoid the need to purchase water locally in plastic bottles * we provide fresh water each day for guests to top up their bottles and for when they'd like to make themselves a herbal tea from our tea box * the water we serve during meal times is from glass bottles * we explain to our guests where they can find the recycling facility at our venue for any plastics & paper they wish to responsibly dispose of I hope this helps outline the steps we take to lessen & encourage the use of plastics during our holidays.

review 24 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being in a beautiful place with relaxed company and having the opportunity to get healthy in mind and body.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax, leave your normal daily life behind, explore a beautiful area and get fitter.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in a comfortable, friendly and family owned hotel. We ate locally produced fresh fruit and vegetables.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful, our hosts took great care of us, introduced us to the local area and its cuisine. Such attention was given to the detail and preparations made for our stay alongwith the programme of events, this was truly appreciated.

review 20 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Amazing hotel - peaceful and tranquil. Superb yoga teachers - patient, relaxed, offering support and encouragement when needed. The right balance of spirituality without it going too far. Flexibility to do what we wanted when we wanted - it felt like our holiday and not one where we were constantly told what to do! Nicole and Gary organise this flawlessly!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it! You'll want to book another one straight after!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb. All the yoga teachers, staff at the hotel, Gary and Nicole were just incredible. For a first time retreat-er, it was the best intro ever. They helped us slow down and find a different speed for 5 days, they supported every step of the way, they never put pressure on or made us feel we had to "be" a particular way. They guide on the spiritual side of yoga but without it being forced or too much. I had the best time and can't wait to go back!

review 15 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Pilates and Yoga classes, beautiful hotel and location.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Throw yourself into the experience, do as much or as little as you want

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fab

review 2 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved it all! The classes were brilliant and the coaches outstanding. The hotel was beautiful and it was lovely to have a pool and be so close to the town and the sea. Food was really good and I made some lovely friends. Also the workshops were very good and added to the whole experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry if you are alone as everyone is so friendly and everything is very relaxed. You don't have to be an expert in yoga or Pilates.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We supported the local area by eating locally and shopping and the hotel supported conservation by reducing the washing of towels and recycling

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant and an amazing experience - I can't wait to return

review 2 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all wonderful, the classes, workshops, cycle ride, hotel setting, lovely Altea & a perfect host, Nicole. Loved it all & didn't want to leave !

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to feel great !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect !

review 14 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was more restful and rejuvenating as opposed to exciting....we loved the holistic yoga and charming hotel but also had great fun on the cycling and sea kayaking adventures!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To go with the flow as the break is called and to open the mind to all new experiences!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the hotel was family run and paid high attention to recycling etc. All the activities were run by people living and working in the area

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Delightful! Just what I needed...restful, rejuvenating and inspiring.

review 26 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A stunning 4 hour guided cycle ride in the local countryside. Lots of challenging hills, but nothing beats whizzing down them with the wind in your hair. I loved it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make the most of whatís on offer. Itís such a great chance to give your body a boost with yoga, exercise and very healthy food. If you are a confirmed carnivore or a fussy eater you might find the uber-healthy vegetarian menu a culture shock, but the food was absolutely delicious.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the yoga and exercise sessions were led by local people; there was very little use of cars as we were largely based on-site; while trekking and cycling we were reminded not to litter and to respect the countryside; we ate delicious fresh seasonal food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was just what I had hoped for. Very friendly atmosphere, plenty of exercise in beautiful surroundings, lots of healthy food and excellent yoga sessions.

Read the operator's response here:

Wow Marguerite, thank you so much for giving us a 5* review! It means so much to us to know that you enjoyed your holiday that much. Truly hope we'll see you again on another of our retreats some day :)) I just wanted to say to anyone reading this review that yes indeed, we do feed you super well with delicious healthy food but we appreciate that not everyone is an ardent vegetarian or vegan & so local fish is available as an option for those that would like it on some evenings during your holiday.

review 8 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The excellent organisation by Nicole and the first class yoga and Pilates teaching.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No need to take lots of clothes. All very casual and lovely.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Between yoga and pilates classes we visited the town and made some purchases. Also visited local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic holiday. Very informal and friendly. The classes/teachers and workshops were excellent and our hosts Nicole and Gary were wonderful. A lovely opportunity to meet new people, have fun (and lots of laughter) and forge great friendships. Altea is a beautiful little town a 10 minute walk from Hotel Tossal. I would have no hesitation in recommending this retreat.

review 13 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The feeling of calm & wellness that this holiday brings is amazing! Gorgeous sunshine, some time to explore , a lovely villa setting and all in the context of looking after yourself. I've never treated myself in this way before but to spend 6 days with great food, yoga, Pilates & a few indulgent treatments has reset me in the way I look after myself, I feel so well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't skimp on the treatments! Try to have a few over the time you are there but 3 is enough, you need time to lie by the pool too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hmm not entirely sure. Food was mainly local & the products used were organic where poss. Nicole & Gary were definitely attuned to holistic living but I didn't make a local impacts connection particularly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A small mix up over rooms at the start but Nicole recognised the error & resolved it. Food was superb , an amazing thing to be saying on a detox & true compliment to our chef for the week, Tom. Lovely group of people & I'll definitely return. It's totally changed how I look after myself on a day to day basis for the better .

Read the operator's response here:

Ahh Sarah, thank you for such great feedback. We're delighted to read that the retreat has changed how you look after yourself on a day to day basis. That's all we could ever hope for! Maybe we should make it clearer on retreat that we source all our produce from local suppliers and only employ local people not just because they are local, but because they are the lifeblood of the area and bring local colour and information that you'll not find in guidebooks. Look forward to seeing you again Sarah when you're in need of another healthy week in the sunshine!

review 28 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There was a variety of activities to take part in and you could work at your own pace. I enjoyed the peace and quiet of the location.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it. Louise was an excellent host and she made the holiday a successful one.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In that people were employed yes it benefitted locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The rooms at the resort were a bit sated but comfortable

review 8 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The yoga classes with Nicole

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go with the flow. The yoga classes are restoring and energising at the same time; Altea is a very nice town and local people are very welcoming

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate this holiday 9/10. The place, the yoga, people, food, everything was just perfect!

review 17 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I enjoyed a lovely summer yoga holiday in Spain recently. I attended the "Go with the Flow summer Yoga retreat". Everything about this holiday was great! . I'm very new to yoga but this particular holiday seemed to meet the needs of people with varying levels of experience including some who were very accomplished yoga practitioners. The yoga instruction given by Nicole was excellent and she was able to support those of us with little experience while challenging others to go further. We stayed in a lovely hotel-with plenty of Spanish charm and I got to meet a great bunch of people from different parts of the globe. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the beautiful old town if Altea-full of character and charm. Nicole who was running the course made sure through out the week that everyone was enjoying their experience. Along with the yoga there were various optional activities on offer which really added to the experience. I chose to do a guided bike ride and a sunset kayak trip- both stunning!! So I couldn't pick a "most memorable part" of the holiday except to say - a great location, excellent tuition, a friendly and welcoming atmosphere -what more could you ask for?!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would definitely recommend doing at least some yoga classes before you go -this will greatly enhance your experience. If you have any doubts about whether this holiday "is for you" just email Nicole and she will go through your concerns with you. I found that she responded to my enquiries quickly and gave me all the information which I needed to make the decision about whether to go on this particular holiday or not. Personally I thought that this was a lovely mixture of holiday and yoga -and hour and a half of really good yoga instruction each day and plenty of time to do other things also. ( there was also the facility for people to do more yoga individually later in the day if they wished)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes I think that this holiday supported the local community. It was held in a traditional family run hotel and our group frequented local restaurants/shops etc. in the evenings.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I thoroughly enjoyed this holiday and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a complete break and change of scene. I would actually like to go on this holiday again at a future date!

review 16 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The accommodation, the location, the yoga studio, the group itself, the views and the great breakfast.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Altea is beautiful but has lots of hills and steps, and the old town has cobbled streets. Bring suitable footwear.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think we gave work to the local people at the hotel and in the restaurants/shops in the town.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. For me it was a journey away from the stress of my "normal" life to a relaxing place due in the main part to Nicole's caring attitude.

review 20 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great yoga in a lovely environment. The mixture of yoga with hiking in the hills made it a perfect holidays. Plus a hot stone massage to top it up!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a couple of days extra to visit the area, it is a beautiful part of Spain

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All activities involved local people - meals, hiking, massages....

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great holiday, would recommend it highly to anyone who wants to switch off for a few days and relax.

review 14 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This holiday was one that will last forever in my heart & soul. My first yoga holiday but definitely not the last, I hope to book again with same company. I suppose one thing that stands out most is the organiser's genuine love of what they do and they care they show for every customer.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Simply book it! After that, prepare yourself for the bliss that will come. The organisers give customers a lot of really helpful tips & detail in what to expect and what to bring.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. All guest teachers, massage therapists, biking guides etc are local people and were worthy of high recommendation. The hotel is family run and the food is fresh and local. The organisers encouraged guests to shop & eat locally, in personally known/recommended establishments.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic! I am torn between 4 & 5 stars as I have been on some really amazing holidays! This one was not with my husband & kids which is altogether unique, which in that context and given my love for yoga has only increased because of the trip I'll go for 'reborn' ;-)

review 16 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The yoga fit holiday was a great mix of fitness activities. Although I did not expect to, I enjoyed the body toning. But the yoga stood out as the most memorable of the activities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for an emphasis on minimum tea/coffee/meat and fish products. Make sure you have a reasonable level of fitness before you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people benefited from money spent on activities such as walking, cycling and body toning as they were delivered by locals. Massages were also provided by locals. All activities had a low to nil environmental impact!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was well worth it. I'd give it 8 out of 10 for setting, hotel, activities and food.

review 26 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Doing yoga and enjoying the beach in the afternoon and the lovely scenery, and having met some truly lovely people at the retreat.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To enjoy the beautiful beach and walking around the town, also to visit Senza if they are in the mood of hitting the town in the evening for a fancy cocktail.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it is great to support the locals by eating out and buying the lovely clothes or jewellery they have to offer.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! just wish it had been longer than 6 days, 10 days would have been perfect.

Read the operator's response here:

We're happy to accommodate any requests for a longer stay on any of our retreats. If clients tell us early enough we will make the necessary arrangements/reservations for them - no problem.

review 17 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great yoga in a lovely light and quiet studio within the hotel courtyard. Interesting hotel that wasn't far away from the beach, marina, tapas bars and lovely restaurants. Lots of time to do the beach, shopping, hike, treatments and eating out. Denia is a lovely resort.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you take suitable walking shoes/sandals for hike - your feet will appreciate it or take lots of plasters! Try to ensure your flights match the pick up times - it will save you money and worries about how to get to Denia.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Traditional Spanish hotel that used products and equipment that was ecological. Staff were all local and had been working there for years - a good sign I think. Local restaurants that we used were family run and very generous with time and service. Local products were bought and sampled to encourage us to buy ourselves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would definitely go again. Already looking at Nicole and Gary's Altea holiday.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies