9 independent reviews for Namibia self drive safari

Reviews for Namibia self drive safari

SHOW
9
0
0
0
0

review 24 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

To see all the animals and the breathtaking sceneries.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Three nights in Swakopmund were too long. Two nights or even just one night is enough.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holidays we had. Definitely have to come back one day.

review 13 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Coming face to face with rhino on foot!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared and know what to expect then you will have a great experience- it is definitely a must do for the independent seasoned wildlife traveler

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes some aspects definitely did. Support to both rhino and cheetah preservation and employment to local communities

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Incredible- our best yet

review 22 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was incredible. The wonderful animals at Etosha national park, spectacular scenery and the amazing people were all great experiences.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for driving on some dreadful, gravel roads.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it supported conservation and benefited local people. It drew our attention to how poor alot of Namibian people are and how important it is to support them by buying their crafts, directly, and using them as guides etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb. We are planning another trip!

review 20 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The magnificent scenery and emptiness of the south of Namibia and our desert trek with Tok Tokkie trails.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for very long driving days but don't be scared of driving yourself or getting lost..

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not especially. The lodge owners, who are often South African, benefitted most. We tried to find local guides where possible but that wasn't always easy given we had limited time in each place.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 23 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The ease of communicating and booking the trip with the provider, as well as the actual trip itself. Everything went according to plan and we had an amazing, once in a lifetime experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We spent some time before contacting an agency doing our own research and creating a tentative itinerary with the things we wanted to see and do included. This really helps the provider tailor a unique program and experience for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Somewhat, the majority of the lodges and campsites we stayed at were privately owned by whites, whereas all of the employees were black. There's a significant salary gap between the two races and I personally would have liked to have stayed at more properties that were black owned.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

AMAZING!

review 20 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wonderful diverse scenery,flora and fauna appearing when you least expect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay in accommodation near the sights you intend to visit, as travel times can be long due to the many gravel roads.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not only the local communities ,as many of the staff had travelled from other areas in the county for the job opportunities made available through tourism .

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful

review 10 Dec 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

ALL of it! SO many amazing memories from the surreal, moving experience of climbing Big Daddy dune at Sossusvlei to stand on top of the sand dune world, scree running down to Deadvlei below, jaw-dropping scenery from another world, the raw beauty of the landscape and sheer scale of the mountain scenery, kayaking with playful seals at Pelican Point, black rhino tracking with exceptional guides from Grootberg lodge, the smiley amazing Namibian people, gazing for hours at graceful giraffe and zebra, the pride of lions that surprised us at our last waterhole stop in Etosha, stunning lodges, amazing food. It was all we could wish for and more!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be put off by the amount of driving. We covered over 3000km in 16 days, but it is not tiring if you stop frequently to literally "take in the views." Be aware that not all gravel roads in Namibia are equal! Driving at the max speed (80km on most gravel roads, some are 100km) is just not possible on some of the rougher sections. So allow plenty of time for your journey when moving from one lodge to another. Also very important - check that your mobile phone works before heading off into the wilderness! We had a signal so assumed it was ok, but our Cypriot mobile phones did not work. We bought a Namibian SIM card once we got to Swakopmund and had access to Wi-Fi at some of the lodges, but if you need assistance from the 4x4 company, you really need to be able to call them.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. ALL the staff at lodges were Namibian, many from the north of the country where work is harder to come by. There was ZERO litter and staff at the lodges were very aware of saving water, not leaving anything behind after a game drive etc and were very aware of the difficult human animal conflict that exists where wildlife is freely roaming. Conservation is top priority to protect the wildlife, but we were also very aware that farmers have to live alongside the big cats and elephants, which sometimes leads to wildlife being shot.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 stars!!! Madri Bowman tailored the holiday to our exact requirements and the ground staff in Namibia were excellent.

review 25 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Traveling through Namibia for 3 weeks meant we managed to see some of the different landscapes, people and animals where each was very exciting. It is difficult to choose as there were all special. Seeing cheetahs at close range in Bagatelle, feeling the eerie quietness at Deadvlei with the long perished trees, experiensing the harsh beating waves from the south Atlantic at pelican point with the acrobatic seals, feeling the vastness of Damaraland whilst meeting desert elephants at close range, experiencing the melting pot of cultures at Opouwo, going for sunrise drive game spotting at Etosha National Park and last but not least seeing the wild life along the northern border at Kavango river falling to sleep to the sound of a frig concert. How can one choose!!! All this in amazing lodges thanks to Madri Bowman.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you thinking of going to Victoria falls after Namibia go by air as a day was wasted on crossing 3 borders with all the papet work.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the accommodations we used employed local people which gave them job opportunities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Can only use one word.

review 23 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Very hard to pick one thing!! Many different aspects... Really enjoyed Fish River Canyon for its remoteness and lodge location, but then self-driving through Etosha and watching lions stalking prey at a water-hole was very special too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for long drives on gravel roads (max speed 50mph if its in good condition!) which can take a lot of time and with so many places to visit can lead to long days.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully it helped all those things.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great trip that was enjoyed by all.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies