9 independent reviews for Northern Lights photography holiday in Iceland, coast & ice

Reviews for Northern Lights photography holiday in Iceland, coast & ice

SHOW
7
2
0
0
0

review 30 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We saw endless landscapes with glaciers, icebergs, lagoons, waterfalls, black beaches, and mossy lava fields, The most exciting part is auroras.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It rains a lot. If you don't like the weather, just wait for 5 mins. The most important thing is to bring your rain jacket, rain trousers and rain boots to keep you dry.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was terrific. From start to end, Iceland Northern Lights, Coast and Ice workshop was impeccably researched, planned and executed with a rich, full and unique itinerary. Thanks to Paul and Dave .

review 28 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Early mornings...prowling black Icelandic beaches for ice chunks, glimmering like diamonds...following huge blue-hued icebergs in the lagoon as they shifted in the running waters...and an evening filled with floating, ghostly swirls of light, ethereal, the Northern Lights, Auroras slipping through the dark sky with tints of green or orange, and then revealing themselves in timed photos radiating green orange painted skies!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Weather can be inclement...be flexible because with different kinds of weather you will see Iceland in different ways. Pack to stay dry. Bring your patience because individual photographers have their own way of taking photos; some remain planted to tripods, some roam. Each person will see the experience differently, so a willingness to go with the flow will make your trip more pleasant. Food will be exceptional...but will also involve the option to eat puffin, whale, and horse meat: I didn't. Fish rule.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A tricky question because I believe that our group presence always attempted to be thoughtful about conservation and we supported preserving the gorgeous environment. For example, we did not walk on the moss-covered volcanic rock. We bought locally when we were on the road. What we observed, however, suggested that Iceland somehow needs to work on its tourism policy (now that I've come and gone) because it does not have the infrastructure to support the hundreds of thousands/millions of people now visiting this small blissful island.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb...it opened up a place to me that I only had an inkling about and revealed raw, spectacular other-worldly beauty. Humbling that such beauty still exists in the world...

review 9 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Where do I start - glaciers, ice caves, ice beach, lava fields and of course the aurora. All fantastic - Iceland is an amazing country with such raw beauty.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take note of the very good and comprehensive list of clothing. You will need it all - its very cold and there are times when you are standing around with your tripod composing that perfect shot!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes in that we stayed at local farms which had converted some parts to accommodation. Where ever possible the food was local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - the tutors were excellent, patient, helpful and very professional. I learnt a lot but realise that I still have a lot to learn

review 11 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots of memories from the holiday it is difficult to pick one out in particular same great destinations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Quite a busy and enjoyable agenda, I would suggest you confirm what software you should have for editing pictures which was not clear from the information received!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we certainly stop at local hotels which were great.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really good holiday which was throughly enjoyable.

review 28 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are from tropical area and going to the upper heminsphere like Iceland, Scotland or Alaska, please be warned to prepare the real winter clothes to protect yourself not only just the cold weather but also the wind. I thought that I brought enough, but I forgot about the wind. Next time I will bring more windproof jackets and pants.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It commercially benefits local people, but I am not sure about it on environmental aspect and conservation. I tried my best not to ruin any nature, but, as you know, every step human beings make, there will always more or less thing get destroyed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 3 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to name just one thing. Photographing ice at the beach and on the lagoon was unbelievable, it was really beautiful. Then the excitement of 'getting' the Northern Lights was really great. The way we were guided by Martin and Geraldine made the whole experience possible. They packed as much as possible into the time we had and they made our holiday a truly unforgettable experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay a few days extra at the ThingHolt CenterHotel. In Reykjavic, It is very central, very comfortable but modern with fabulous bedrooms, a good breakfast with some hot food for those who prefer it. They have just opened the restaurant in the evenings and give residents 20 o/o discount.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The main Farm/Hotel that we stayed at only used local food, mostly off the farm. Fresh trout which they farmed themselves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous, never to be forgotten.

review 28 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

this was a real blur of a trip, the whole experience was excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is quite an intensive trip and whilst the organisers are brilliant, the Iceland landscape needs a bit of care and suitable gear is essential- and the weather changes a lot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

the bulk of accomodation was local and good use was made of local facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I think everyone who went on this trip would return in the future given the chance. I will certainly be back next year. Overall a great holiday and learning experience.

review 26 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There are too many highlights to mention on this extended trip. From chasing the Northern Lights to sunrise or sunset in stunning locations to the sheer scale of the glacier lagoons.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you get enough sleep before coming - the opportunity to capture fantastic landscapes will keep you busy!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday made use of local family run businesses and respect was certainly paid to the local people and environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday exceeded my expectations by a country mile. Martin and Geraldine are two of the loveliest people I have ever met and their knowledge and genuine passion for photography really left an impression. As it was my first photography workshop I was concerned it might not be for me; now my concern is how anyone else will be able to live up to what this operator has to offer, after a truly amazing 10 days.

review 8 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Flying from south eastern Iceland back to Reykjavik - what a throw back 40 years, wish Martin would do a photo blog of this experience. The different geology of Iceland and all the photo opportunities. The ice beaches were phenomenal.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Most of the walking is not flat or easy (rock piles, sand, pebbles, very deep moss, up/down) I am not complaining it was great.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I really do not care, I went to photograph not get into this idiocy of impact -I bet whoever asked this is sucking water out of a plastic bottle which will not disintegrate for 1,00 years - yeah there is a benefit!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My first photography holiday so I cannot compare but as a trip it was great with the added benefit of learning so much and seeing so much and enjoying the entire experience.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies