25 independent reviews for Croatia family activity week

Reviews for Croatia family activity week

SHOW
9
16
0
0
0

review 8 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking along the rugged coastline into beautiful secluded bays. Enjoying Xania's exquisitely cooked vegetarian evening meals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Embrace the idea of yoga at 7 am! Bring cycling gloves - useful not only for cycling but also for kayaking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

High quality vegetarian food may well persuade meat eaters to try a meat free diet. Had no need to buy anything to eat or drink which were in plastic containers/bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Craig and Xania Wear demonstrated considerable skill and expertise during our holiday. They quickly assessed the strengths and abilities of the group members and gently encouraged everyone to succeed in the different activities. It was a truly memorable experience.

review 9 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was brilliant. The activities were brilliant, pictched to suit our ability; the food was delicious and shared with real passion and homeliness; there was also plenty of time to simply enjoy the fantastic location and really relax.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it with confidence and enjoy the experience. There's something for everyone. We travelled with a 1 year old and and 8 year old and they both got so much out of it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The mix of one night eating in with Craig and Xania and the next sampling the local restaurants was lovely. Also, the food was all locally sourced including the fresh bread from the local bread van every morning just in time for breakfast. In terms of environmental impact relaxing on a sea kayak and seeing the island via bike was a great way of minimising the impact whilst giving the body a good old stretch. A lovely quiet and engaging way to properly experinece a beautiful and relatively unspoilt part of the world.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was brilliant. Activity balanced with proper relaxation. We have come back really rejuvenated. Craig and Xania (and Zora-the dog) work very well together to pull the experience together so you can just get on and enjoy your break.

review 7 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Actively exploring the Island of Vis, on bikes, kayaks and foot. Beautiful place, beautiful people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Craig and Xania seem to readily fit in with the local culture, as if they have lived there forever. Getting around on bikes, foot or kayaks made for low environmental impact and a perfect way to explore.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 19 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Diving off rocks and sea kayaking in caves. The bike ride down the winding coastal road to Komiza was spectacular. Our kids, aged 5 and 11 had a terrific time and really loved the activities as well as mucking about in the sea, snorkelling and swimming. Craig and Xania (the owners) went out of their way to ensure we had a terrific time, including little extras like games and competitions.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just book it, it's a blast.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, not only were Craig and Xania both aware of reducing their environmental impact, but they also encouraged us to enjoy the local restaurants and recommended some marvellous spots.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! "Fantastic, awesome, really good!" (comments from the kids).

review 12 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being on a little beach with no one else around and searching for sea creatures with my boys.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just turn up and relax and be open to everything.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we walked and kayaked, ate at local establishments and didnít pay in to companies that take away money from the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant perfect mixture of exercise and relaxation and no pressure to do anything you didnít want to, and catered for all ages (in our case 4-31).

review 6 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it was absolutely fantastic. Jumping off the high rocks into the sea was a great experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We are not amongst the fittest family that have visited with this tour operator but we all enjoyed the activities. So don't be put off if it sounds quite energetic - it was all fantastic.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The food was great and mainly grown on the island. We had the opportunity to eat out at our own choice of restaurant with our hosts providing the taxi service.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday. Our hosts Xania and Craig were welcoming and generous with their time and expertise. Xania is a great cook! Thank you to you both.

review 20 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The weather (28 degrees along with a fantastic thunderstorm!) and the beauty of the unspoiled and really hospitable island of Vis. I did not want to leave and come back to our frenetic life in the UK!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Xania cooks excellent vegetarian meals - sometimes my children found they weren't always to their taste! Book early as they are very popular in the summer! Just take shorts, t shirt and swimmies!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Very much so. We didn't use a car all week and all local produce was used for the meals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, really thought through and balanced to suit kids and adults of all ages and ability.

review 22 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking into caves, the kids jumping off rocks and cliffs, swimming off kayaks in the clearest blue water, mountain biking through vineyards to a fishing village. Early morning yoga and a swim off the rocks afterwards. Great cooking by Xania.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Excellent for families who don't just want to sit on a beach but don't want a bootcamp or just one activity. You can kayak, mountain bike, snorkel, swim, jump off rocks into the sea, practise yoga and walk in the cool of the day. The house is in a great position near several coves. Very unspoilt area, not a single shop and cash only, no credit cards accepted in the 2 local restaurants. Good accommodation, Craig and Xania have a flair for design, very comfortable, easy living and very good (vegetarian) food.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Xania used seasonal and local produce, honey from the neighbour, cheese from the local farmer, lots of seasonal fruit and veg. Solar showers, we travelled under our own steam as much as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good, we all came back very relaxed, fit and healthy, didn't lose weight due to great and plentiful food. Holiday appealed to our 3 kids, (2 teenagers) as exactly the right balance of activities and relaxation. Craig and Xania very good at making it fun with minimal of fuss, eg at kayak rest stops there were always ball games for those who didn't want to sunbathe but no pressure to join in. Kids also loved their dog Zora.

review 6 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had high expectations going into this holiday after reading the recommendations of previous visitors. That could have been difficult to live up to but happily our time on Vis exceeded our expectations! What made it particularly memorable was Craig and Xania's welcome, the attention to detail and their energy in making everything great. The sea-kayaking was a fantastic way of seeing the island, it gave us all a real sense of freedom. The satisfaction when (finally!) arriving at the top of the zigzag climb out of Vis town on bikes was pretty good too!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go! If you enjoy physical activity and getting out and seeing the place you are visiting, this is for you. Don't miss the Blue Cave boat (trip from Komiza).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We travelled by mountain bike, kayak or foot for the vast majority of our visit (A few pick-ups in the Land Rover were needed and welcomed!). Xania's excellent cooking is rooted in using local seasonal produce - neighbours' goats cheese, next door's honey, etc. Craig and Xania have integrated into the local community and actively support local businesses and communities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday kept the whole family busy, entertained and enthused (that is, Mum and Dad, 15, 13 and 9 y/o girls). It is one we will be recommending!

review 2 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole week was brilliant... we had a vote, and most of the family voted for jumping off the rocks into the perfectly clear blue green waters...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to be on the go most of the time! This suited us perfectly with 2 young kids, as they were constantly entertained....

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely, all the food was sourced locally and the restaurants recommended were all local.... obvious minimal impact to environment in things such as a single water bottle provided for use for each member for the week , reducing the need to buy bottled water ... majority of transport was by bike, foot or kayak... and the jeep was always full on each journey.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good.... would definitely recommend to families looking for an active holiday that caters for all ages and abilities. Hosts looked after us well, food, rooms, equipment etc was excellent , and the clear waters off Vis have to be seen to be believed.

review 5 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For us the whole week was memorable. Kayaking on a choppy sea one day, dead calm the next. Xania's wonderful home cooking, Cycling both on and especially off road. Snorkelling with the fishes. Yoga on the rocks. Spectacular scenery. The superb local wines. Jumping off the rocks. Playing games on the beach. We loved it all!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Great for fun loving, active families. Our 10 year old son and we as parents (50ish) were challenged physically but you can set the bar as high or as low as you wish.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Local people benefited from our redistribution of wealth (spending). The environmental impact is small as most activities are man powered and when the landrover is used up to nine people are moved in the one vehicle.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We rate this holiday in our top 3 for enjoyment.

review 5 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The children loved jumping into the sea from the rocks and snorkelling in the crystal clear water.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To make the very most of your time, try to go earlier (June) or later (September), if you are thinking of going in the Summer. The weather, whilst warm, will be more comfortable for mountain biking and hiking, which are excellent ways of seeing this lovely island.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We ate out at local restaurants, eating locally grown produce, used local tour operators for excursions on our "free days" and made sure to drink the local wine!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Extremely good. Craig and Xania are very professional. It's hard to think of any way that they could have improved the service they provided on our holiday.

review 8 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Canoe games, good food, great location, intuitive hosts - difficult to choose one option.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book now (but leave space for us).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Local produce used for all the catering. Excellent local restaurants supported on the occasions we dined out. Zero pollution from cycling and canoeing.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Best holiday so far for all the family members.

review 2 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Both Xania and Craig are experts at matching appropriate activities/routes to the ability level of the whole family. As a result we all felt we achieved something at the end of the each day whilst feeling challenged. We have never sea kayaked before and experiencing something new was incredibly exciting. The opportunities to stop and swim, snorkel or rock-jump was also much appreciated. Their personalised approach also meant that the adults could go off on longer bike rides whilst the kids were occupied picking figs or riding to the next point in the landrover. At NO point did they feel like they were sitting out and were thoroughly entertained. This meant that we could thoroughly relax and immerse ourselves in the holiday as a result.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have waterproof shoes with straps to avoid the sea-urchins. Crocs are too heavy and difficult to swim in. Also make sure you have travel sickness pills if you are a bit queasy on water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Craig and Xania served local produce - both food and wine - each of the evenings we ate at home (Xania's cooking is a gastronomic delight!). They also recommended excellent local restaurants and we experienced a range of foods that were pleasing for adults and children alike. We are particularly grateful to Craig for organising for one of the local restaurant owners who is also the Croatian cricket coach to leave out wickets/pads/bats etc. for us to have a game before dinner. My son is a cricket fanatic and was in his element.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb, we felt genuinely upset at having to leave and would love to return next year. We have not experienced a holiday where ALL of the family are happy ALL of the time - we usually enter into lengthy negotiations and strike a compromise. It has also inspired us to continue with some of the activities back in the UK and spend more time 'adventuring' as a family - we even put it into practice on Sunday with a 12 mile bike ride so it isn't hot air!

review 26 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Xania and Craig are excellent with children and young adults. We presented them with an interesting challenge. Take a 15 year old boy whose idea of a holiday is getting out of bed mid-afternoon. Take the same boy - with an arm recently put in a cast! - and take him on an adventure holiday. Xania and Craig were brilliant with him. He was able to participate in all the activities and he had a great time. We all did. My two daughters (13 and 11) say it was the best holiday they have ever had. The island is beautiful, the activities as strenuous as you want them to be, and the food was wonderful. Excellently planned and executed from beginning to last.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You will be eating out and paying for four dinners and two lunches. The food is very good, but not cheap. A one-course meal with a bottle of wine and some soft drinks for the kids comes to about £20 a head. When deciding where to eat, I would suggest you take the advice of Craig and Xania. We did not do so on one occasion and had our only poor meal during the week. (If a member of your party has an accident prior to going - see www.limboproducts.com for waterproof cast protectors).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The produce is locally-sourced where possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday far exceeded my expectations - even though my son had his arm in a cast. By far, the best holiday that I have had.

review 17 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The week lives up to its billing. Relaxingly active is a very good description and this Dalmatian island is lovely with beautiful crystal clear warm waters. The vibe is like a cross between Greek island (laid back and warm) and Italy (excellent food and wine but without the frenetic air). We were delightfully energised without getting exhausted, and the whole family enjoyed the combination of sea kayaking and biking 'at your own pace'. Up for it for those who were, laid back for those who werenít or were first timers. Craig and Xania are impressive at gently assessing what people wanted or were capable of doing, with a light touch on coaching appropriate according to needs and fitness or lack of it. One of us managed and loved the morning (rather early to avoid the sun) yoga sessions. An unexpected highlight is Xania's superb vegetarian cooking (we are generally unreconstructed carnivores), not to mention her brilliant afternoon cakes (her tiffin particularly lives on in the children's memories) and the carefully researched suggestions for local restaurants at other times. (Dad, aged 44) My most exciting memory would probably be one of the times when we were out kayaking and we stopped on a little beach in the middle of nowhere, and we went snorkelling and we werenít out even a metre deep and I saw a long yellow spotted eel just sitting there. Then I was swimming across the bay and still only about 90cm deep and I saw an octopus!!! It was amazing. (Izzie age 12)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít worry if you arenít normally too active: this works for everyone. Make sure youíre ready to be active in the morning, so you're up and ready and then you earn your special time in the afternoon to have a nice quiet few hours. (Izzie age 12)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It definitely minimised impacts on the environment as you were doing very wildlife friendly activities. It probably did benefit the local people as we were in quite a small village and it gave them the chance to earn a bit more money and meet knew people (Izzie age 12)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent: will recommend to friends and would certainly return. I would rate this holiday as extremely good, as it was very exciting and adventurous, but then you had your own special time to yourself. Also it was very child friendly for me and my brother (age 9) so there was lots of stuff to do, along with the fact that the home made food was absolutely amazing so I'd give it a 10/10! (Izzie age 12)

review 26 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of the holiday was great. Well thought out good activities with good working equipment. Good quality mountain bikes. Sea kayaking was amazing, visited great bays and even a green grotto. Our children really enjoyed the holiday. The activities were just in the morning so you had the afternoon to do what you wanted. The food we had at the homestead was excellent 5 star homemade veggie food. None of us are vegetarian and we all loved the food. Xania the hostess should really make a recipe book! Beautiful simple stylish contemporary accommodation in a great location, even the air on Vis smelt great (wild rosemary).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect tourist shops and the like, Vis is really unspoilt. Enjoy the crystal clear water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10.

review 2 Jun 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it! The Island of Vis was beautiful, unspoilt, quiet and unlike anything we have come across before. Our hosts Craig and Xania shared their beautiful home, organised appropriate levels of activity for all members of the family and interacted with our three children brilliantly. Xania produced fantastic vegetarian food. Kayaking and cycling gave us the opportunity to explore the island in a very natural way. This holiday gave us above all the opportunity to spend huge amounts of time with our children doing things we all enjoy but rarely find the time for at home.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

May half term is the very start of the season, or from a Croatian perspective before the season starts! Some restaurants are still not open but plenty are. The sea was still warming up but still warmer than Cornwall in high season! The yachts were just beginning to come in (nautical tourism a big part of the tourist scene) so we don't know what high season is like. But a holiday in Vis is about enjoying beautiful scenery in a quiet, relaxed and safe environment don't expect bustling nightlife. Vis beaches are predominantly pebbly with only a few very sheltered coves being sand. We didn't find this a problem swimming and snorkelling was great. Water shoes to protect against sea urchins are useful. The island is quite hilly so cycling does involve some uphill work, much to the dismay of our youngest two who asked Craig and Xania to come up with a downhill only route! (Craig is very good with the Trail Gator for towing little ones up the bigger hills).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Breakfasts and half of the lunch/dinners were cooked in using locally sourced produce accompanied by local wines. Other meals were eaten out at a variety of local restaurants generally offering locally caught seafood. Kayaking, cycling and walking were the main forms of transport with the trusty green landrover providing back up for tired children and adults.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Environment (Vis), accommodation, food, activities and hosts all excellent. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting a 'relaxingly active' holiday, especially families with active children. Our kids ranging from a very fit and active 12 year old to a 7 year old all had a wonderful time. We are all looking forward to going back. The best family holiday we have had. The only possible improvement would be a couple of extra degrees on the sea temperature.

review 3 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all memorable for all the right reasons: Craig and Xania were excellent hosts and have created a fantastic holiday experience. Vis is a beautiful island and seeing it by kayak or bike is well worth the effort. The feeling of elation at having cycled up a long winding hill without walking is still with me - the sense of achievement was amazing! The highlight for the children (6 of them aged 10 to 15) was jumping off the cliffs into the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring beach shoes - makes life easier and more comfortable on the paths and the pebbles!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes definitely. Xania's delicious home-cooking was made with as much local produce as possible. The wine was all local - some better than others - but all worth the experience! For our evenings and our day 'out', Craig and Xania recommended some great local restaurants - from the simple to the superb and also organised local taxi transport - land and sea - when necessary. The activities were all effort-powered - not a motor in sight (although a discreet little motor on my bike going up some of the hills might have been welcome at times!). There was also no need to hire a car as 11 of us fitted into the landrover - with bags on top!!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. It suited our two families extremely well - an excellent mix of activities and relaxation to please everyone in a completely safe and unpressured environment.

review 11 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Watching my son jump from a very high cliff into the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take some of that no water hand wash as there were a few problems with water supply which is not common apparently.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The holiday made use of local restaurants and facilities and a lot of the food and all the wine was locally produced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent combination of activity and relaxation run by two very nice and skilled people.

review 4 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Vis (and indeed) Croatia were far more beautiful than we had anticipated. Kayaking on several days allowed us to inhale the intense color and clarity of the sea water surrounding the island. We have swum in ocean waters in other parts of the world, but this was completely special as we floated and snorkeled in the beautiful sea. The scenery is incredible.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travellers should be aware that it takes time to get to Vis, no matter what kind of transportation you use. If you envision this holiday as part beach holiday, you should be aware that although there are beaches nearby, none are particularly easily accessible on foot. To get to the biggest nearby beach, you also need suitable footwear for the paths and the stone beach.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Xania and Craig have developed some excellent contacts on the island, and by bringing or directing their guests to various local restaurants are adding significantly to the local economy. Xania's wonderful vegetarian dishes are all created from local produce. In the summer, the variety and quality of the fruit and vegetables is superb.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We enjoyed the experience very much - especially those we shared it with. We were really a disparate group but we all had fun together, especially when you consider we ranged in age from 15 months to 60 years!

review 27 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Learning new skills like kayaking and sharing activities with our two (somewhat reluctant) teenagers who really enjoyed themselves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring suitable water shoes - there are sea urchins and rocks. The food is vegetarian - which was a surprise to us but it was absolutely delicious (Xania is a great cook) and we all came away feeling much healthier.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we used locally recommended restaurants including agri- tourism and our activities were local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, great hosts and good mix of relaxation and activity.

review 25 May 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it. This was a really fantastic experience with delightful hosts who couldn't have been more thoughtful, enthusiastic and friendly. Great care and concern for our individual requirements were constantly shown to make sure we had the maximum benefit from the holiday. We enjoyed all the activities, managing great new experiences and came away with a real feeling of achievement. Sea kayaking along the coast and learning to manage the gears on a mountain bike figure as memorable, but everything we did was fun and challenging. My daughter and I found we could push the boundaries of what we thought we were capable of in a safe and enjoyable way.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light. Although a warm sweatshirt was essential last week. You are living in Craig and Xania's home, sharing their space, and that of the other guestsí. In that respect the line between paying guest/ private guest/ friend is rather blurred, which could feel slightly awkward, although our hosts were at pains to reassure us that we needn't be. Food at the house is delicious and vegetarian. Also lots of wonderful home made cake! There is plenty of opportunity to try local fare as well, roasted lamb, wonderful fig cake and fresh fruit. You will come home feeling refreshed and much fitter than when you arrived, though there were moments of total exhaustion, especially after kayaking for several hours, which in itself is a good feeling. You build up a very healthy appetite after every activity!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Xania's cooking was all produced from local produce, and was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. We ate out in restaurants 4 times in the week and bought local wines and produce. Our activities had little or no impact on the environment. The rooms are very simply and beautifully furnished, the showers were great, with lots of hot water. However, we were advised that water can be scarce, so we were mindful of that when showering.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful. I would certainly recommend it to friends and family and hope to go back to Vis again very soon.

review 4 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We all had different moments, but one of the highlights was seeing 2 of our 3 children jump off a 35 foot cliff into the sea FAR below to the applause of a tour ship that had anchored up in the cove.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy it! Try all of the activities Craig and Xania offer - even those you think you can't do - you will feel so good when you achieve climbing that hill, kayaking to the next cove etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All of the food and even wine was bought from local small-holding growers, very little/no packaging used etc. The island naturally lends itself to living off the land and economically.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really great. Craig and Xania are the perfect hosts knowing just when to make conversation and get us involved in beach games etc., as well as when to leave us alone for family time. They encouraged each of us to achieve the best level of fitness we were capable of. We had our children ages 18, 13 and 9 and we all, adults included, had a great time. Vis is a beautiful island too!

review 20 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful accommodation and excellent food combined with well thought out activities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Quiet location. Truly relaxing whilst having the opportunity to participate in daily physical activity. Don't pack too much!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We were encouraged to eat in local restaurants that used only local produce. Encouraged to use minimal amounts of water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

All the members of our group enjoyed the holiday and there was enough to keep two teenage boys occupied. Relaxingly active!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies