Umbria bed & breakfast accommodation, Italy

Vouchers
Accepted

Responsible tourism

Responsible tourism: Umbria bed & breakfast accommodation, Italy

Environment

A holiday in a farmhouse can be a total experience of body and soul, we expect people who choose it to look for something different than a hotel, so rooms and common spaces are furnished in order to give the idea and the feel of a private house and meals are cooked and served respecting this philosophy, so the atmosphere recalls dinner amongst friends rather than a formal restaurant. Of course the ingredients we use are home grown or come from selected nearby farms.

Our first aim is to preserve the environment so we have chosen organic farming, which means not only that we use no chemical products, but also that we cultivate land using methods that don’t pollute the surrounding environment (such as picking olives manually, or hoeing fields instead of using herbicides).

Also our major effort at the moment is concentrated on using alternative forms of energy, so we have installed solar panels to produce either electricity and hot water.The house is being heated through the use of geothermal energy.

At our Umbria bed & breakfast accommodation we make all sort of efforts to avoid waste of water and electricity; we use energy saving bulbs and have programmed the garden to go off at a certain time, in some common rooms lights turn on and off automatically, we have provided our taps and showers with a special device to reduce the amount of water used. Towels and sheets are changed upon request or every three/four days, we explain our guests that this reduces water waste and pollution and they are happy to cooperate, we show them where to hang towels to dry in the sun; we have no tumble dryer. We use either natural detergents such as vinegar, soap, sodium bicarbonate or environmental friendly cleaning product and try to reduce needed amounts. .

We separate glass, plastic, paper, cartoons, tins, and compost all food and garden waste, we also collect rain water and use it for the garden. We don’t print brochures, instead make the most of advertising via Internet, we send e-mails to our clients instead of writing Christmas Cards, and try to answer to letters and faxes using electronic post; when we need to print something we do it on both sides, we use the blank side of sheets for personal notes; we ask our guests to give us back maps and leaflets, so other people can use them.

As we imagine people to come here in order to find peace and silence rooms are deliberately without many electronic equipments.
We care about the environment and have chosen a way of living in accordance with this. We recycle, avoid waste, use alternative energies and farm organically as part of our daily life. We try to involve guests in caring for nature too, and make them think about sustainability. For people who come from crowded and noisy towns staying here makes a big difference, we try to encourage them to think about nature and how important it is to preserve it. Most of the time when they go back home they change some little habits and become more conscious about pollution or energy saving, we couldn’t ask for more!

Community

We try to make the local community aware of the importance of sustainability, by giving examples on how to recycle materials, avoid waste and live in harmony with nature instead of just exploiting it.
We are part of an association of different local companies such as farmhouses, restaurants, trekking guides, wine producers, artisans and artists created in order to promote tourism in our territory and send clients to each other. Also we cooperate actively with the local tourist board sending newsletters to our registered customers to inform them about particular events and activities (e.g. grape and saffron harvest, traditional village feasts).In everyday life we try to buy all we need and don’t produce directly from local producers in order to promote quality and support the local economy, we encourage people who come on holiday to do the same, using local services and buying from traditional artisans.

Landscape

We are making a serious effort to make people appreciate the little area where we live whose beauty is unknown to most people. We always encourage our guests to explore this area, suggesting routes off the beaten track and pointing out little restaurants, shops and interesting places to visit, we also invite them to visit farms with various production and try or buy the products they sell.

7 Reviews of Umbria bed & breakfast accommodation, Italy

4.5 out of 5 stars
SHOW
3
3
1
0
0

Reviewed on 02 Oct 2017 by

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


As an extra we pre-arranged a cooking class which included the evening meal we'd cooked together with Gianluca, both the class and the meal were very
enjoyable. We learnt some new techniques and had a great meal with our fellow guests from around the world who were friendly, interesting and fun. We also enjoyed some time by the pool taking in the lovely surroundings.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Our tour operator offer a variety of packages, if you are booking the B&B only you need to be aware that driving will be essential for both lunch and evening
meals. You will not find anywhere within walking distance..

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


On the whole yes. The food for breakfast was local produce and and the B&B is generally eco-friendly in it's recycling and use of power. All good stuff as you'd
expect from an organic farm. We would have preferred less driving but it was unavoidable.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We really wanted to love the accommodation and it is a nice place, with nice, clean rooms in a lovely setting, however, unfortunately, overall we were left
slightly disappointed by the service and facilities. Perhaps our expectations were too high, and, as Marina has rightly pointed out to me, the accommodation is a
B&B not a hotel, but relaxing days by the pool are somewhat comprised by the travel required to feed oneself.

To be fair it clearly states it is a B&B, but some of the details described on this website are somewhat misleading, for example, "On the first floor there is a
nice restaurant where guests are served a genuine breakfast, a quick lunch or a rich dinner", when we asked if we could eat in the restaurant on our last
night we were unable to even though other guests were dining, presumably they didn't have enough food but if prior booking was required then it would
have been good to know this in advance, we asked around early afternoon; a quick lunch really should be taken literally, in our case it was prosciutto and
tomato, very nice but very insubstantial. Driving to get some lunch and dinner most days did spoil our idea of a lazy day relaxing on the farm.

It also states "We have ...... a little bar where people can help themselves to tea, coffee and drinks", this is incorrect, tea and coffee were not available and
when we requested a coffee we were told it was not possible, there are no facilities in the room to make your own it should noted.

As above the cooking class was very enjoyable but it does come in at a hefty 120 euro per person. Also the trip that Marina arranged for us to visit the Vitalonga winery was equally keenly priced at 70 Euros for two people. My advice would be to drive yourself to the vineyard as you can then spend as much (or as little) time there as you wish and it makes the trip more cost effective, when we got back we still needed to drive in order to eat.

If you are looking for a base to tour Umbria and are out and about every day or if you visit the accommodation on the cooking tour I'm sure you'll have a great
time, however if you're looking for a less energetic holiday then I would suggest you plan your trip carefully and ensure you communicate your expectations in advance to avoid disappointment.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Richard,

We loved having you, and are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations, however thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am sure it will be usefull for other guests.

I understand probably communication was not as effective as it should have been, so I will certainly make a bigger effort to clarify exactly what facilities are available and what the costs are. We operate as a B&B, and that's normally understood so most of our guests are happy with what we offer, also they normally accept that dinners are only available for guests participating to cooking classes, I am sorry if you felt left out, we didn't mean to be unpolite, only it impossible for us to include all guests, as we don't operate as a restaurant.

However there are 8 restaurants within easy driving distance, and a basic grocery shop with a coffee-bar within walking distance. Also sorry to hear that you think the cooking class was too expensive, for us it's quite a big effort, as we start in the morning to get all the supplies (we don't just go to a big supermarket, but to different small places), and since guests enjoy a three courses dinner with excellent wine after the class, we never finish before 11,00 p.m. or later, so that's a long day! Also the fact that my husband is a professional chef should add some value to it.

We don't normally promote the Vitalonga tour, but since you asked that we arranged a winery tour for you, we made you an offer that would include transportation, as nobody wants to drive after a wine tasting, it is normally accepted by everyone that this service has a cost, which in fact is very modest, as a taxi would charge three times as much, besides the tour itself is very interesting, the wines are excellent and are paired with fresh seasonal food, so I am very surprised to hear that you got bored and also that after the tour you had to drive somewhere to get lunch, as I know food is always served in generous portions, in fact almost everyone considers it as a proper (light) lunch. I understand that everyone has a different appetite, yours is obviously rather big as for most italians the portion of ham and tomatoes you were served at our B&B would be a substantial lunch especially on a hot day, and that's all they would it and believe it or not, they never have a rich breakfast like our guests do.

Nevertheless I will try and be more careful in the future and specify what and which amounts we'll be serving in order to avoid people being disappointed.

Again thank you for staying with us, hope you'll be back in Umbria soon!

Reviewed on 06 Oct 2016 by

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


The setting was beautiful and utterly peaceful. Umbria stole our hearts. I
could live amongst olive groves and vineyards forever. The stunning hill towns were a joy and i shall never forget our day in Assisi.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Come prepared to unwind and relax. Having a car was a great help. Let the
time you have evolve around you day by day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Absolutely. We were so impressed with the way in which Marina and Gianluca kind of blended the house and everything about it with where we were.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We loved it. We were with friends for our third holiday together and agreed that it had been blissful. We had large airy rooms and a substantial breakfast to
start each day. Marina couldn't have done more to make us comfortable and very welcome. We were the only guests most of the week.

Reviewed on 09 Jul 2016 by

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Gianluca and Marina and amazing people and were such incredible hosts to us, they just made our week. Their farm is absolutely beautiful, we just loved it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Enjoy the incredible wines, the food, the countryside, the local hill towns.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes it is a sustainable (and beautiful) working farm, we learned a lot about their practices and products, helped out a bit on the farm and we supported local small wine producers and village businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Very special, thank you again for a wonderful week.

Reviewed on 16 Jun 2014 by

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


It would definitely have to be our hosts. The couple that run the B&B are absolutely wonderful. They made us feel like part of the family. They also kindly catered to our special dietary needs, which was a massive bonus for us. Additionally the property is incredibly well kept, everything is spotless and decorated with an eye for detail. Couldn't fault a thing, everything was perfect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Renting a car is recommended. Also, book as long as you can because you won't want to leave...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Most of the produce used at the B&B are from local suppliers. Particularly their wine and cheese selection comes from very close neighbouring villages. In addition all waste is recycled as much as possible. Including food waste, which is often "recycled" by their two beautiful puppies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


One of the best holidays we have ever been on. We'd like to give it six stars.

Read the operator's response here:

thank you for your visit and for the lovely time we had together!
we would love to see you again

Reviewed on 17 Sep 2014 by

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Getting the chance to walk around the wide variety of historic and beautiful hilltop towns and villages. Eating lovely Italian food in the local villages

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Go ahead and book to stay here! The area is lovely and unspoilt and the facilities and the welcome you will receive here are second to none.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


We booked our stay late and were just looking for place to unwind for a few days. However we would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone, and indeed are hoping to return again next year.

Read the operator's response here:

Grazie, John.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it means a lot
to us.

We really hope to see the two of you (with your children, maybe?) back next year.

Reviewed on 29 May 2014 by

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


Exploring the underground tunnels and caves at Orvieto and Chiusi and discovering there are more to look at in Assisi next time! The food and wine was high on the list too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


Some sort of vehicle is useful for getting around, even if it is just from base to the station. We discovered it is quite a walk from Fabro Scalo to le podere.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


We travelled by train to and from Italy and while we were there, though see above for need for some sort of vehicle. We visited (and enjoyed) local restaurants, and recycling was the order of the day at our accommodation. We walked and used public transport so believe it was a fairly low impact holiday environmentally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


Excellent! Our hosts were outstanding; the accommodation comfy and spacious; the area is beautiful, food is great and there is lots to see and do.

Read the operator's response here:

grazie mille for your kind words!

Reviewed on 03 Jun 2013 by

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?


We were very happy with our stay! This is a beautiful farmstay, which is lovingly cared for by the couple who run it and live there themselves. We didn't have a car, and they kindly picked us up from the station and also took us into town to do a food shop and also arranged and took us to the local restaurant who then gave us a lift back after our meal as the area doesn't have taxis.

The room was comfortable and felt like it was newly renovated, even though the farmstay has been going for some years. The most memorable bit was going on a walk with the dogs - who led the way and then led the way back too!

The view and experience of a peaceful environment and being surrounded by olive trees and also the ability to cook our own food was great, especially as we were on a budget. Breakfasts were delicious too. I would definitely go back and also will give details to friends.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?


If you want to explore the area or go out a lot for supper, there are no taxis, so I recommend hiring a car. It’s a great place for a peaceful restful break.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?


Yes as the farmstay was organic. We ate at a local restaurant.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


10 out of 10!

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Anna and Craig,
thank you for taking the time to write a review, and thanks for your very kind
words. We also enjoyed your company very much and are glad that you appreciated
our efforts to make your stay comfortable.
We hope to see you back.

Popular similar holidays

Perugia self catering accommodation in Umbria, Italy

Perugia self catering accommodation in Umbria, Italy

villa-apartments,historical farmhouse 15min.walking downtown

From €770 - €1550 per week (sleeps 6)

Umbria farmhouse B&B, Italy

Umbria farmhouse B&B, Italy

Family-run organic farm offering b&b and half board

From €55 - €70 per room per night (sleeps 2)

Umbria luxury self catering apartment, Perugia, Italy

Umbria luxury self catering apartment, Perugia, Italy

Luxury romantic apartment rental - historical villa Perugia

From €500 - €995 per week

Umbria farmhouse accommodation in Italy

Umbria farmhouse accommodation in Italy

Organic farmstay accomodation in Pietralunga Forest, Italy

From €70 - €110 per accommodation per night

Convert currencies